Anoka-Hennepin Educational Foundation Board of Director's Meeting August 22, 2018

**Members Present**: Mariam Abdulkareem, Mike Broos, Doug Edson, Shawna Feist, William Harvey, Julie Klund-Schubert, Mark Scheller, Suzy Scheller, Kimberley Starling, Alexa Sullivan, Joel VerDuin, Tess DeGeest, Karen Westensee.

**Members unable to attend**: Conner Johnson, Lynn Montgomery, Kim Pavlovich.

Meeting called to order by Chair Mike Broos at 5:32 pm. Mike welcomed everyone. Introductions were made.

**Nomination and Election:** Mariam Abdulkareem was nominated to the board as a student director for Andover High School by William Harvey. Motion seconded by Joel VerDuin. Motion passed.

**Agenda** was approved by consensus.

Chair Mike Broos called for the consent agenda to be reviewed. Joel VerDuin moved to accept the consent agenda. Mark Scheller seconded. Motion passed.

Secretary's report was accepted as submitted.

Director's report was accepted. Mike Broos stated the annual report and legacy giving brochure are at the printers. Mike also stated that Anoka Middle School for the Arts and Coon Rapids Middle School will partner with AHEF in the fall of 2019 for their direct appeal to school parents. The last item highlighted is calling the donors to thank them for their donations will be tweaked for next year to reduce the work load on the office staff. There was no further discussion about the report.

**Treasure's Report**: Suzy Scheller provided an overview of the 2017-18 actual budget and compared it to the 2018-19 budget approved by the executive committee in June of 2018. Kim Starling moved to approve the 2018-19 budget with a second by Julie Klund-Schubert. Motion passed.

Suzy Scheller also provided a balance sheet and a profit and loss sheet for the period from July 1, 2018 to August 16, 2018. William Harvey moved to accept the treasure's report and Shawna Feist seconded. Motion passed.

## **Priority Board Business**

- A. **Bylaw Amendment Proposal:** A motion was made by Julie Klund-Schubert to approve the proposal and redefine a quorum to be "a majority of the **non-student** directors shall constitute a quorum." The motion was seconded by Shawna Feist. A clarification was made that student directors still retain voting rights as board members. Motion passed.
- B. **Mini grant awards process clarification:** Mini grants are open and will remain open until October 1, 2018. The plan is to award 10 mini grants of up to \$500 each by October 31, 2018. If more than 10 grants can be awarded (because some are less than \$500) the board will do so. The grants will be reviewed and awarded by the members of the board that are present on October 10, 2018 at 5:30 at the ESC.

- C. **Discussion of how to acknowledge retiring board members.** Tabled due to time constraints.
- D. **Board evaluation.** A summary of the one to one meetings with board members and the Executive Director and board chair was discussed. A summary of the meetings was provided with action items.
- E. **Proposal of a board book read.** Tess showed the book "The Ultimate Board Member's Book" and suggested AHEF purchase them for each board member. Board members that wish to keep their book would reimburse the foundation for the cost (\$22 each). Student directors will not pay for their copy. Shawna Feist moved to purchase books and a second was made by Suzy Scheller. Motion passed.

## **F. Mission Moments:**

- 1. Mike Broos asked board members to sign up to partner with a grant and present on the grant at a future meeting. A sign up sheet was passed around.
- 2. Suzy Scheller talked about the Oxbow Creek Elementary School Artist in Residence was a success and the children loved the program.
- G. **Conflict of Interest.** Mike Broos asked the board members present to sign the conflict of interest statement and the board member job description.
- H. **Opportunities for board engagement.** Tess DeGeest asked for volunteers for the golf tournament on September 8, 2018.

## **Other Business**

There was no other business.

## Meeting adjourned at 7:09 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Douglas Edson

Board member name and end of term

Mike Broos 2019 + Doug Edson 2020 Shawna Feist 2020
William Harvey 2020 Julie Klund-Schubert 2020+ Lynn Montgomery 2020
Kim Pavlovich 2019 Suzy Scheller 2020 Kimberley Starling 2019

Joel VerDuin 2019 +

Mariam Abdulkareem 2020\* Connor Johnson 2019\* Mark Scheller 2020\*

Alexa Sullivan 2019\*

<sup>\*</sup> student board member

<sup>+</sup> eligible to renew for 2<sup>nd</sup> term