Skip to main content

News & Events


AHEF donors fuel 58 grants to teachers and staff, totalling $26,796

Blaine High School teachers Tim Riordan and Kendrick Novak hold up their mini-grant checks with Tess DeGeest, AHEF executive director, in the middle of the photo taken in the ESC hallway.

ANOKA, MINN. – The Anoka-Hennepin Educational Foundation (AHEF) recently awarded the second round of grant funds for school projects and students totaling $26,796 in mini-grants for the 2022-23 school year. These funds complement an earlier round of grants in May 2022 and perennial grants that AHEF funds each year for a total of $74,843 in funds awarded for this school year.

AHEF received 60 mini-grant requests from staff of which all were funded either partially or in full. “This was one of the largest number of grant requests received in years,” said Tess DeGeest, executive director of the AHEF. “The increase in requests reflects the continuing needs of students all across our district and the dedication of our staff members to meet these needs.”

Addressing the social and emotional needs of students continues to be a top concern and request among school staff. Also popular are curricular materials that better reflect the diversity of Anoka-Hennepin’s students and new equipment, technology, and tools to increase innovation.

A list of the grants awarded is here.

In addition to these annual grants, AHEF will continue to support after school activities for middle and high school students through the Middle School Engagement Fund and Chance Fund as well as other perennial grants like dictionaries for all third graders.

“Our donors make these grants possible,” said DeGeest, “Thank you to everyone, teachers, administrators, staff, parents and community partners, for making these equitable and innovative experiences possible for our students.”

The next round of AHEF grants will open in January 2023 and will be for the 2022-23 school year. For more information on AHEF grants go to or email

  • Thank You Sponsors
    Thank You Sponsors
  • AHSchools Logo
    AHSchools Logo
  • ATS&R logo
    ATS&R logo
  • Headway Logo
    Headway Logo
  • Medica Logo
    Medica Logo
  • Metro Sales logo
    Metro Sales logo
  • Northeast Bank Logo
    Northeast Bank Logo
  • NorthMetro TV
    NorthMetro TV
  • Rotary Logo
    Rotary Logo
© 2023 Anoka-Hennepin Educational Foundation

Powered by Firespring